Part of the Glyn Academies Trust

Governing Body

Cordwalles Junior School – Local Governing Body        

Chair of Governors - Mrs Jane Smith    (contactable via main school office - 01276 23298)

The Local Governing Body at Cordwalles Junior School has been delegated authority to function as a governing body by the Glyn Learning Foundation Trust.

The LGB have three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.   

The LGB work with the Headteacher, Mrs Claire-Louise West, to consider how well the school is moving forward and how to make the experience at Cordwalles better for every child.

The LGB is made up of two main committees to ensure that they cover all of the three core functions.

The Standards Committee meets every half term to look at:

  • Pupil progress – how every child in school is learning and moving forwards
  • Quality of teaching and learning – how well teachers and children are moving on with their learning
  • Curriculum – what children are learning about
  • Behaviour – how well our children behave
  • Attendance – how many children attend every day, those who do not and what is happening to help them come to school
  • Closing the gap of attainment – how the teaching and learning at school is ensuring that our children are learning at the same pace as all other children in the country

Attendees to this committee are:

  • Jan Eaton
  • Jane Smith
  • Hugh Cowan
  • Claire-Louise West
  • Sam Alley-Mohindra


The Operations Committee meets every half term to look at:

  • Finance – what is being spent and what difference it has made
  • Safety – how safe our children are inside and outside of school
  • Appraisal – what systems are in place to ensure that all staff have professional development to help them be even better leaders of learning

Attendees to this committee:

  • Jane Smith
  • Shaun Garrett
  • Claire-Louise West
  • Janet Miall







Shaun Garrett

Sarah Nottrodt


Jan Eaton

Philippa Leah


Shaun Garrett

Natalie Betteridge



Josh Bennett


Jan Eaton

Sam Alley-Mohindra/Allison Hickling

Pupil Premium

Jane Smith

Sarah Nottrodt/Janet Miall

Sports Premium

Jane Smith

Sam Alley Mohindra/Janet Miall


Jane Smith

Sarah Nottrodt


Jane Smith

Joshua Bennett


Hugh Cowan

Sarah Nottrodt

Health and Safety

Shaun Garrett

Sarah Nottrodt/Peter Budd/Janet Miall


Jane Smith

Janet Miall

Quality of Teaching

Jane Smith

Claire-Louise West


Jane Smith

Sarah Nottrodt


Governor Attendance & Business Interests can be viewed by following this link